Tuesday, December 1, 2009

It's not work if you love it.

Good morning everyone. I'd like to thank Ginger for letting me drop in and yak for a while. I'd like to talk to you about something I'm very thankful for and give you your first gift of the holiday season.

We've all heard the saying about doing what you love means you'll never work a day in your life. I'm here to attest to the truth of that quote. This past year, my husband and I have opened our own publishing house, Damnation Books. We've been called ambitious for doing it during a down economy and opening our doors with twenty-five titles. Last night at 12:01 am, we launched thirteen more. Guess what? We are considering expanding already.

2009 has been a whirlwind year for the both of us. Filling out all the government paperwork, paying fees, buying and learning new software, building our own server and website. Spreading the word, reading submissions, hiring staff, contracts, editing, formatting, selling books etc. etc. etc. There hasn't been a second of it that either of us minded the late nights and working weekends. It's because we have found our place and something we enjoy through and through.

It was scary at times. You can't help but worry about whether you have what it takes. There comes a moment when the excitement drives you beyond the fear and you know in your soul, that this is what you were meant to do.

I want to encourage anyone with dreams to pursue them. Don't let anyone discourage you. It can happen because you will find a way to make it happen. Leave the discouraging thoughts and naysayers behind. Don't expect overnight success. As with all things you have to work hard, expecially at first with little reward. But you won't really be working. I think it's high time the word, Work, gets a new image. It can be fun and rewarding. I'm living proof.

A little about Damnation Books. You might've guessed by our name, we publish dark fiction: horror, thrillers, dark fantasy, science fiction, paranormals and erotica (with dark elements or themes). These are not intended for younger audiences. They are meant to entertain and be affordable. Our focus is on ebooks, however our titles are also available in formats for Iphones/Smartphones, and in paperback editions. We want to bring books to where the readers are and our goal is to become THE place for dark fiction. I hope you'll check us out.


Now for the gift I promised you. Along with our new releases, we have a novella to give away. It's a holiday zombie story called Christmas Day of the Dead by Yolanda Sfetsos. To get yours, head over to our site at http://www.damnationbooks.com/ Add the title, Christmas Day of the Dead to your shopping cart and at check out put in the promotion code 61DODholiday to get it free.

I invite you to check out our other books. The newest releases are currently on variable pricing. What's that? It works like this: when a book goes live, the very first copy downloaded is free. With each download, the book rises in price by twenty five cents until it reaches full price. You can only get this deal on our website. Anywhere else and you'll have to pay their list price. We want you to get to know us and our authors.

Have a wonderful holiday season.

Kim Richards, CEO
Damnation Books


2 comments:

Trent Kinsey said...

I wanted to stop in and say I love what I've seen of Damnation Books so far...I still have titles I bought back during the grand opening I need to read but have loved the work I've seen so far.

Kudos and long live your dreams!

Trent

Sean McLachlan said...

Kim is right on about chasing your dreams. I became a writer ten years ago, starting small, and now I have eight professionally published guidebooks and history books to my credit. I make a living at it, but it took eight years before I could fully wean myself off my day job.
But I'm only halfway to my dream. I want to be a regularly published fiction writer too. December 1 marked the next step in that direction. Damnation Books published my historical short story "Dannevirke", and that same day I learned from Dorchester Publishing that I am one of the ten finalists in their Fresh Blood contest for unpublished horror novels! I'm a little closer to the dream. . .

Romance Reviews

The Romance Reviews

Manic Readers

Manic Readers

She Writes

Historical Fiction Books

Readers and Writers of Distinctive Fiction